LaSalle County Retired Teachers Association Meeting

Regular meeting on Monday, September 23, 2019, 9:00am Festivities Unlimited in Ottawa, Illinois

The LaSalle County Retired Teachers Association under the leadership of our president, Jackie Sapienza, held their fall 2019 general meeting at Festivities Unlimited in Ottawa, Illinois. We thank the LaSalle/Putnam County Regional Office of Education for providing the morning doughnuts.

Wanda Lent led us for the Pledge of Allegiance and God Bless America.

President Jackie Sapienza then called the business meeting to order and offered some introductory remarks and spoke about the Free Library box in front of the Dickenson House in Oglesby.

Mary Trovero, acting Recording Secretary, reviewed the prior meeting minutes of April 22, 2019 and August 26, 2019.

Cheryl Templeton, Treasurer, presented the current treasurer's report.

Membership Committee chairperson Mary Jo Farrell updated us on our membership, now 422. Foundation Committee chairperson Deb Torri informed us about current foundation matters including grants for teachers and scholarships. She also read the names of recently deceased LSCRTA members followed by a moment of silence.

Janie Hoffman, our Newsletter Chairperson, was commended for her excellent work in producing the LSCRTA Newsletter twice each year.

ROE #35 Assistant Regional Superintendent Matt Winchester then provided useful information regarding current practices relative to retired educators. He was joined by Krissy Darm, Director of Professional Development and Alaina Johnson, Communications and Licensure Specialist

Conrad Spirrison, Nominating Committee Chairperson unveiled the slate of officers for 2000-2001 and 2001-2002. They are: President Jackie Sapienza, 1st Vice President Alice Joop, 2nd Vice President Cathy Erickson, Recording Secretary (Open Position), Corresponding Secretary Pauline Cashman, and Treasurer Cheryl Templeton. The 2 Open Positions are Recording Secretary and the standing committee chairperson for Benefits and Retirement Education. There were no volunteers for either of these 2 open positions at this time. If interested, please contact Dr. Spirrison or Jackie Sapienza.

The Bucks for Books schools receiving \$100 from LSCRTA for their libraries are: Allen Otter Creek School in Ransom, Northwest Elementary School in LaSalle, LaSalle Peru High School in LaSalle, Harding Elementary School in Harding, Kimes Elementary School in Streator, Central Elementary School in Ottawa and Lincoln Elementary School in Mendota. Conrad Spirrison, Nominating Committee Chairperson unveiled the slate of officers for 2000-2001 and 2001-2002. They are: President Jackie Sapienza, 1st Vice President Alice Joop, 2nd Vice President Cathy Erickson, Recording Secretary (Open Position), Corresponding Secretary Pauline Cashman, and Treasurer Cheryl Templeton. The 2 Open Positions are Recording Secretary and the standing committee chairperson for Benefits and Retirement Education. There were no volunteers for either of these 2 open positions at this time. If interested, please contact Dr. Spirrison or Jackie Sapienza.

Conrad Spirrison, Nominating Committee Chairperson unveiled the slate of officers for 2000-2001 and 2001-2002. They are: President Jackie Sapienza, 1st Vice President Alice Joop, 2nd Vice President Cathy Erickson, Recording Secretary (Open Position), Corresponding Secretary Pauline Cashman, and Treasurer Cheryl Templeton. The 2 Open Positions are Recording Secretary and the standing committee chairperson for Benefits and Retirement Education. There were no volunteers for either of these 2 open positions at this time. If interested, please contact Dr. Spirrison or Jackie Sapienza.

We were pleased to have IRTA Area 7 Membership Chairperson Richard Small join us at our meeting.

Following a brief break, we were privileged to have shared with us the wisdom of our 2 guest speakers, Doug Strand, a member of the TRS Board of Trustees, and Jim Bachman, IRTA Executive Director.

The \$41 50/50 drawing was won by Judy Hooper. Conrad Spirrison won the prize of a IRTA winter blanket.

Jackie Sapienza then provided concluding remarks and the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted by -

Dr. Conrad Spirrison, LSCRTA Public Relations Chairman